Democracy and Gender Working Group


This working group, centered at the Leibniz Institute for Contemporary History (IfZ), brings together researchers approaching an understanding of democratic change from the perspective of the history of gender and vice versa –  those exploring the significance of the category of “gender” from the perspective of the history of democracy. Since 2017 the group has been connecting similar research questions and interests to bring about a regular exchange among researchers. The group’s members share an appreciation of “gender” as a category that has great conceptual and heuristic potential for insights into contemporary history. Seldomly, however, the approaches, methodologies and findings of gender history have been integrated into the history of democracy– and vice versa. The working group’s goals are therefore twofold: to develop a new understanding of democracy and its historical trajectories, and equally to think about the history of gender in innovative ways.


The members of the working group include:

  • Dr. des. Valérie Dubslaff, Université Renne 2
  • Dr. Nadine Freund, IfZ
  • PD Dr. Bernhard Gotto, IfZ (Sprecher)
  • Prof. Dr. Isabel Heinemann, Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster
  • Prof. Dr. Kirsten Heinsohn, Forschungsstelle für Zeitgeschichte in Hamburg
  • Prof. Dr. Christina von Hodenberg, Deutsches Historisches Institut London
  • Mirjam Höfner, M.A., Archiv der deutschen Frauenbewegung, Kassel
  • Christina Holzmann, M.A., IfZ
  • Prof. Dr. Sandra Maß, Ruhr-Universität Bochum
  • Dr. Julia Paulus, LWL-Institut für westfälische Regionalgeschichte, Münster
  • Elisabeth Perzl M.A., IfZ
  • Prof. Dr. Till van Rahden, Université de Montréal
  • Dr. des. Nadine Recktenwald, IfZ
  • Manuela Rienks M.A., IfZ
  • Dr. Eva Schäffler, IfZ
  • Prof. Dr. Michael Schwartz, IfZ
  • PD Dr. Martina Steber, IfZ (Sprecherin)
  • Prof. Dr. Andreas Wirsching, IfZ

© Institut für Zeitgeschichte