Promoting Young Researchers

The promotion of young researchers is a top priority at the Leibniz Institute for Contemporary History (IfZ). Most research projects at the institute therefore include positions for junior researchers. Doctoral candidates, as well as post-doctoral students, have the opportunity to conduct their own research as part of a team and under excellent financial and infrastructural conditions. The work of professors at the institute ensures that young researchers are given supervision and support, including connections to universities. The IfZ also provides funding to doctoral students, relevant funding programs within the framework of graduate schools, colloquia, and networks, as well as training in practical academic development, including for example “writing practice”.

The doctoral students at the IfZ meet regularly to discuss their common concerns. The IfZ doctoral student speakers are Liza Soutschek und Felix Berge.

 

The IfZ Graduate Seminar

The institute hosts a graduate seminar in Munich, which is available to all doctoral candidates and those writing Master’s theses or the like at the IfZ or under supervision of an IfZ professor. Guests can also attend the seminar. In addition to the introduction and discussion of ongoing theses, discussions are held on theory and methods in the field of history. The seminar is led by Thomas Raithel, Thomas Schlemmer, Elke Seefried, or Andreas Wirsching, and as a rule takes place every other week during the semester period.

 

Teaching Activities of our Researchers

The connection between the Leibniz Institute for Contemporary History (IfZ) and universities is particularly strengthened by the IfZ research staff members of professorial rank, who help supervise junior researchers. The professors and university lecturers of the institute teach at the Universities of Augsburg, Chemnitz, Mainz, Munich, Münster, and Potsdam in addition to staff with part-time teaching assignments at other universities. These activities have led to a network for the benefit of the institute, universities, and students.

 

IfZ Doctoral Student Day

The IfZ Doctoral Student Day took place for the first time in autumn 2018, providing a platform for IfZ doctoral students to discuss their dissertation projects in individual conversations with IfZ researchers. This format was conceived and organized by the doctoral students (and their speakers) themselves and received the express support of the institute direction. Many IfZ senior staff made use of the opportunity to have more in-depth discussions with young IfZ researchers. The Doctoral Student Day, which will now occur annually, raises the profile of the research of young historians and boosts collegial ties and academic exchange within the institute.

 

International Networking

Building on tried and tested doctoral seminars, which go back to the director’s former teaching activities in Augsburg, the Leibniz Institute for Contemporary History established a doctoral student network in 2012, which not only connects the PhD students working at the IfZ more closely with each other, but is especially successful when it comes to bringing about a regular exchange with the junior researchers of other universities. The network connects the IfZ with the Departments of Modern and Contemporary History at the University of Bonn (Prof. Joachim Scholtyseck) and University of Mainz (Prof. Andreas Rödder) and with the Department of German Contemporary History at the University of Paris-Sorbonne (Prof. Hélène Miard-Delacroix). Once a year, there is an international doctoral colloquium over the course of several days, which brings together the doctoral students of the IfZ and those universities.

Writing Practice Seminar

The IfZ has been offering a writing practice seminar since 2007. It has taken place once each year in Aldersbach, Lower Bavaria under the auspices of the editors of the journal Vierteljahrshefte für Zeitgeschichte. Under the guidance of experienced authors, young scholars – generally doctoral students – have the opportunity to learn the principles of excellent academic writing. Many junior researchers have already participated in the event, which has also become an important addition to the work of the institute.

 

Further information on the writing practice seminar

The Following Doctoral Candidates are Active at the IfZ

  Felix Berge

Felix Berge, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
berge@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/411150114
details

  Kristin Bohms

Kristin Bohms, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher (Universität Münster) / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
bohms@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/452084-112
details

  Moritz Fischer

Moritz Fischer, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher (Universität Münster) / Doctoral Candidate (IfZ)
location
Munich
e-mail
fischer@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/452084-113
details

  Sophie Friedl

Sophie Friedl, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
friedl@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/4111501-11
details

Helena Gand, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Berlin Center for Cold War Studies
e-mail
gand@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
030/55574099-5
details

  Gregor Hofmann

Gregor Hofmann, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
ghofmann@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/5527907-15
details

  Christina Holzmann

Christina Holzmann, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
holzmann@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
details

  Wolf-Rüdiger Knoll

Wolf-Rüdiger Knoll, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Berlin Research Department
e-mail
knoll@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
030/555740996
details

  Sophie Lange

Sophie Lange, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Research Assistant / Doctoral Candidate
location
Berlin Center for Cold War Studies
e-mail
lange@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
+49 (0)30 555740990
details

Dr. des.  Felix Lieb

Dr. des. Felix Lieb

function in the IfZ
Researcher
location
Munich
e-mail
lieb@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/41 11 501-23
details

  Pai-Li Liu

Pai-Li Liu, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
liu@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
details

  Eva Lütkemeyer

Eva Lütkemeyer, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
luetkemeyer@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/4111501-27
details

  Susanne Maslanka

Susanne Maslanka, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Berlin Center for Cold War Studies
e-mail
maslanka@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
030/555740995
details

  Manuel Mork

Manuel Mork, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
mork@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/411150114
details

Malte Müller

function in the IfZ
Research Assistant / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
mueller@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/411 1501 - 21
details

  Izabela Paszko

Izabela Paszko, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
paszko@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/540499916
details

  Pascal Pawlitta

Pascal Pawlitta, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
pawlitta@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/12688-155
details

  Elisabeth Perzl

Elisabeth Perzl

function in the IfZ
Research Assistant / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
perzl@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/4111501-11
details

  Sebastian Peters

Sebastian Peters, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
s.peters@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/12688-252
details

  Isabella Radmann

Isabella Radmann, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Research Assistant / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
radmann@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
details

  Manuela Rienks

Manuela Rienks, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Research Assistant / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
rienks@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/4111501-21
details

Christina Rothenhäusler, MPhil

function in the IfZ
Research Assistant
location
Munich
e-mail
rothenhaeusler@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/12688-257
details

  Christian Schmittwilken

Christian Schmittwilken, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
schmittwilken@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/5527907-15
details

  Willi Schrenk

Willi Schrenk, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Berlin Center for Cold War Studies
e-mail
schrenk@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
030/55574099-2
details

  Liza Soutschek

Liza Soutschek, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
soutschek@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/12688-155
details

Mirjam Spandri, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
spandri@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/5527907-15
details

  Rick Tazelaar

Rick Tazelaar, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
tazelaar@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
details

  Tobias Wals

Tobias Wals, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
wals@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/5527907-15
details

  Ana Lena Werner

Ana Lena Werner, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
werner@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/411150-115
details

  Martin Wiesche

Martin Wiesche

function in the IfZ
Researcher / Doctoral Candidate
location
Munich
e-mail
wiesche@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/5527907-15
details

  Julia Ziegler

Julia Ziegler, M.A.

function in the IfZ
Wissenschaftliche Mitarbeiterin/Doktorandin
location
Munich
e-mail
ziegler@ifz-muenchen.de
phone
089/411150126
details



© Institut für Zeitgeschichte
Content